top of page

Leigh and District Cottage Garden Society Constitution

  1. The name of the Society shall be as shown

  2. The purpose of the Society shall be the encouragement of the culture of fruit, flowers and vegetables and of home crafts among the residents of the neighbourhood.

  3. The affairs of the Society shall be entrusted to a President, a Chairman, an Honorary Secretary, an Honorary Treasurer and Honorary Show Secretary and a Committee not exceeding twelve persons, all of whom shall be elected by the Members at the Annual General Meeting of the Society.

  4. All Officers and Members of the Committee shall retire annually but shall be eligible for re-election.

  5. The annual members subscription shall be fixed annually by the Committee and approved at the Annual General Meeting

  6. The annual Patron member’s subscription shall be fixed annually by the Committee and approved at the Annual General Meeting.

  7. All subscriptions shall be deemed payable after the Annual General Meeting.

  8. Any four (4) members of the Committee may, by notice in writing, require the Honorary Secretary to call a meeting of the Committee within Fourteen (14) days of receipt of such notice.

  9. The Honorary Secretary shall ensure that the Annual General Meeting is called. He/she shall also call a Special General Meeting if so instructed by the Committee or if requested in writing by not less than four (4) members. He/she shall ensure that due and proper notice of all General Meeting is given to all Members.

  10. The Society shall be affiliated to the Royal Horticultural Society, and except in so far as they may expressly be varied in the Show Schedule adopt the Rule for Exhibitors published by that Society and applied to all competitions held by it.

  11. In the event that the Society should become defunct the last appointed Officers and Committee shall arrange for the setting up of a Trust to care for the remaining assets of the Society on behalf of the Members.

  12. The Trust shall have not less than four (4) Trustees. None but residents of the Village of Leigh shall be eligible to serve as Trustee.

bottom of page